Blues Travels

The Driving Enthusiasts Web Site

New Car, Old Car-Saying Goodbye Is Hard

If you are new to this site, then you might not know that my favorite car will always be my R32. His name was Blue. I had the car for the last two years and I drove it everywhere the four winds could carry us. I had the time of my life with that R32, but sadly, because of the carelessness of a body shop and it’s refusal to own up to its responsibilities for damages done to that very car, coupled with some other troubles I had with the R32, I made the decision to get rid of it…..

I could go into all of the reasons why I chose to make the changes I made, but I won’t. Life is about change, isn’t it? Life is contantly changing. Life is dying, or moving closer to death. At any moment we are all living on the edge of eternity. Some of us are just closer to the edge than others. Is that a pessimistic view? Maybe it is. Perhaps life is not so much about death as it is about birth. Maybe life is contantly being born from one life to the next, from one understanding to the next level of understanding. It is a paradox. One of the great mysteries of…you guessed it…life.

When we are in the womb, we are comfortable. We don’t want to leave. Babies come into this world kicking and screaming. I came into this world kicking and screaming. I am still kicking and screaming it would seem. I always wondered why this is so. But I think it’s because from the moment we are concieved we misunderstand life and death.

As infants we had to say goodbye to the only lives we know inside the safe and warm (if we are lucky) confines of our mothers bodies. When we are born, we experience it as death – death of what we know. We are forced to say goodbye to it all in one excruciatingly terrifying moment that must seem as though it lasts a lifetime.

But from the perspective of the adults that welcome us into this world, they see our birth as life. And assuming the birth is routine, they perceive that we are coming into their world, this world, not so much leaving ours. Though we really are leaving our world, aren’t we? We then begrudgingly begin to accept this new world as our own, only to come to the realization that we must die, yet again, at some point and move on to the next world. And it seems sad to me. That is, until we make the transition into new life yet again, and our understanding is taken to yet another new level. Some call it eternity. I think that will do just fine.

When I bought Blue, my R32, I never imagined I would be without it. Yet, several circumstances intervened to disabuse me of that notion quickly. I was forced to accept that the stress of keeping the car was wearing on me. Other influences combined to push me toward a decision I neever imagined I would make and in short order, there I was trading my R32 for a VW 337. It made me sad. It was a form of death. I had to say goodbye to what I knew and expected to have for a very long time, and say hello to something I never imagined I would ever have.

Alas, I have another car that I am enjoying for the moment, only this time I am not so foolish as to think I will be able to keep it forever. I may die. I may find that at some point keeping it running is costing more than the car is worth, etc. For the moment at least, this New Boo feels like home and I am really enjoying him.

This New Boo has a turbo, he is shiney silver (Reflex Silver), and only 1500 of his kind were ever made! So, it is a pretty cool find, and loads of fun to drive. He is still Blue to me, just a New Blue. 😀

Welcome to your new world Blue. Click For Some Cool Pics

March 2, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. i enjoy your writing. sorry to hear you lost “blue”. Please don’t feel it is a “downgrade” to a 337. if you treat it right, your 337 will take care of you, too.

    P.S. Don’t name your car “Blue” again. I can’t stop thinking about that old guy in the movie “Old School” 🙂

    Comment by Cameron Kuo | March 5, 2006

  2. Heheh
    Thanks Cam. Well, I don’t think the 337 is a step backwards at all. I just miss certain things about my R, such as the exhaust note, seats and so forth. But the 337 has a charm all of it own and I love it.

    Don’t believe I ever saw old school, and thank you for reading!

    Comment by Tim | March 5, 2006


Leave a Reply

