Blues Travels

The Driving Enthusiasts Web Site

This is my first Movable Type Blog Entry

I just completed the cross-over from GreyMatter to Moveable Type.

I love GreyMatter. I love the community they have there. But the truth is I wanted to try something different. My old blog looked like this: Old Blues Travels That is not too bad, either. I loved the look. But I just wanted something easier to look at and Movable Type Intrigued me. I think I like the result better.

For those of you wishing to start blogs, there are lots of ways to go, and each way has its pro’s and con’s. I am far from an expert on the pro’s and con’s, but I believe that one of the things I liked about MT was the fact that you have a paid option. Let me explain.

A paid version of (MT) Movable Type exists. This version you are looking at is free. The paid version is around 70.00US I believe. At first glance, that sounds expensive doesn’t it? Especially when you consider that there is no difference between the retail version and the free version in terms of programming and function. However, you get a lot for your money when you pay for the retail version, mainly in the form of support from the word go. In fact, MT will install it, configure it and help you maintain it, if you fork over the cash.

Now, I enjoy doing things myself. I love to play with html and script code. Most people do not, however. So, if you want to start a blog and you don’t know how to work with Perl script and CGI, then the retail version of MT is for you. The support team at MT will take out all the hassle and guess work that usually comes with installing something like this yourself. They will help you customize, maintain and manage your blog. The frustration factor will be greatly reduced.

On the other hand, if you want to learn how to install, customize and manage a weblog all on your own, the Greymatter has MT beat hands down. Why? It is simple really.

When you embark on programming and you have little or no experience, you will need help. And the best place I have found is online community forums. I have several I visit. From car enthusiasts, to gamers, to web designers and more…you can find support communities for just about every hobby and interest you might have. And GreyMatter has a GREAT online community.

The GM forums (GreyMatter) are populated with people who love web design. Many of the folks there helped design and re-design GM blog software. The GM forums are usually buzzing with activity and the folks there are very nice. You can usually get a quick response to a problem just by posting a message. Not so in the MT community.

With the MT community, you have a forum that is frequented by very few people. Most of the folks using MT (the blog software that is used to make the site you are visiting now) have come to MT precisely because they have no idea what they are doing. They buy their software, pay someone to run it for them and all they have to do is make entries. In terms of problem solving, most of the members of the MT community are just not skilled enough to really fix problems. That is why they get the MT support team to do it for them. What does that mean to me, you may ask? Well, it means that if you try to install and run the free MT on your own, you will have a hard time finding answers to your questions in the MT community. Days, maybe weeks may go by and you may never even have one reply to your post. If you want the functionality of MT and have no interest in being a web geek, then buy the retail version.

In the end, I am very happy with MT, but even with my skill, it took me 4 days to get it running and looking like I want it to look.

March 2, 2005 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. UaakB1 http://gdjI3b7VaWpU1m0dGpvjRrcu9Fk.com

    Comment by frenky | May 8, 2011

  2. Cool site goodluck šŸ™‚ dark lolita little nymphets 62759

    Comment by Jszhppku | July 31, 2011

  3. Very interesting tale playtoy model gallery 0358

    Comment by Xalwmkzf | September 9, 2011

  4. Who do you work for? http://ysadoraap.de.tl board vladmodel ANY LADIES OUT THERE THAT WOULD LIKE TO DO THIS TO A TWENTY-TREE YEAR OLD????? I HAVEN’T DONE ANYTHING LIKE THIS AND WILLING TO DO DO IT…. I LIVE IN THE L.A. AREA (CALIFORNIA, US)

    Comment by Ggkosvsc | May 3, 2012

  5. Whereabouts in are you from? http://eciiemojaj.de.tl pedo portals nymphets This guy has a VERY fuckable body and a very juicy dong, don’t get why she is in so much pain, I would be cumming and squirting all over him instead…Maybe she was late with the rent and needed the cash badly.

    Comment by Hckffvvy | May 4, 2012

  6. I’d like a phonecard, please http://lahulypubyca.de.tl bikini model’s butts OMG WATCHING THAT SCARED THE SHIT OUTTA ME. I WOULDN’T WANNA FUCK THAT GUYS. I GIVE THE WHITE GIRL PROPS FOR TAKING THE DICK UP IN BOTH HOLES BUT I WOULD DIE I CAN’T DO IT.

    Comment by Bnrerpxl | May 7, 2012


Leave a Reply

